time to breathe

This week has been absolutely crazy. Well, let’s back up. Basically Saturday – now has been nuts. Saturday I decided it would be a good idea to go to Rochester and get some final Christmas shopping done, and of course, stop for some Chipotle. Every place I went was an absolute zoo, so all I actually managed to buy at the mall was some new Bath and Body Works lotion for my purse. (Still a win in my book) Since it was almost 2pm, I thought I’d give Chipotle a shot since normal people don’t eat lunch at 2 o’clock. I pulled in the packed parking lot and saw that the line was half way to the door. Whatever, I thought, I’ll give it a shot. Open the first set of doors and I can see the end of the line, right inside the door. So, I turn around, and head to Target. Another zoo. Managed to get a gift for my Grandpa, and that’s it. Stood in the “10 items or less line” for 15 minutes. Finally escaped and thought I’d just hit the McDonalds that was close for some lunch on my way out. The drive thru line was all jumbled up because of course the lines are covered and people are idiots. So, I back up and head out. Suddenly I’m careening down a slippery hill, trying to push my breaks but they won’t budge, as I get closer and closer to the car ahead of me and the busy street ahead. I head towards a snow bank and finally get my stupid car to stop. You know that feeling you get in your chest/stomach when you almost hit a deer. Well, picture that times a million. By this point, all I’m thinking is, “Get me out of this frickin town!!!!” I finally get off the ice patch and onto clearer roads, then I miss my exit and have to go through the busy part of town again. Took FOREVER. I was so relieved when I finally made it back home.

Sunday I had to pack up stuff and haul it 2.5 hours (one way) to my moms. Alone. Enough said.

The rest of Sunday, Monday, and Tuesday after work was filled with packing up my apartment. Wednesday was moving day. Luckily I had good help so it wasn’t too painful. I’m still not done, but I plan on finishing up Sunday and Monday. Then I’ll have to unpack. Ugh….

Anyway, after my awful 5 days, I got to just leave my stuff strewn about my new place (and old place) and head out of town. I’m not a big fan of Christmas, but I sure am glad to have a little break. For a few days I’m just going to pretend that I don’t have a big mess and another week of hell waiting for me when I get back.

Leave a Reply

