an ode to nice girls

The other night I spent awhile re-visiting “stumbleupon” – basically because I was really bored and didn’t feel like watching tv. I came across a lot of crap, with a few interesting sites stuck in here and there. One that I found intriguing was called An Ode to the Nice Guys

Basically it’s some guy bitching about how girls always say they want the nice guy, but in reality always go for assholes. What I have to say to this “nice guy” is: I feel for you. Most of what was written in that article was true – and I’m sure it sucks for guys. I think it only takes girls a matter of time to realize that they really do want the nice guy. In my experience that’s true anyway. Basically my only criteria now for guys is that they’re not assholes. I think it just takes girls having to deal with one final asshole to realize they need someone nice. However long that takes though, who knows.

The entire time I was reading it, all I could think about is how it works the same way for girls. Nice girls never get the good guys. Guys go for the slutty, bitchy, stupid girls. This is something I will never understand. I just thought back to my own life and all my guy friends and the countless times I’ve had to listen to them complain about their girlfriends. About how the girls always complained about everything, how he always have to pay for dates, how the girl would disapprove of everything he did, etc. I’ve had friends who couldn’t talk to their girlfriends about anything important, who admit that their girl isn’t that smart, or that good of a friend. My only question is, “Why would you put up with that??” It’s like guys don’t realize there are girls out there who want to be equally financially involved in a relationship. Or be ok with just hanging out and having a night in. Or let a guy make his own decisions and not freak out if he hasn’t called by a certain time. Or actually be laid back, not just pretend to be. Guys, there ARE girls out there who are genuinely nice.

But, instead, guys insist on going for the bitchy girls. I cannot tell you how many times I’ve heard “you’re the nicest person I know.” That’s nice to hear, but it really doesn’t count for anything. The same people who say that are usually the ones who say “why would you want to hang out with me anyway? You’re such a better person than me.” So, am I to understand that I’m single because I am just too too good of a person and no one thinks they deserve me? That’s bullshit.

I don’t know if guys really do want bitches, or if they’ll come to realize they do actually want a nice girl. Who even knows, but if I have to listen to one more guy complain about his bitchy, controlling girlfriend, I might scream.

2 thoughts on “an ode to nice girls

Leave a Reply

