it’s been awhile

Today was a beautiful day in Winona, so I decided to take Chet for a walk. As I’ve said many times, I have to see Chet on a semi-regular basis because he’s the only “person” who ever gets that excited to see me, and it reminds me that someone loves me. Sure, I wouldn’t really like it if a human jumped all over me and started licking me when he/she saw me, but when it’s Chet, I let it slide. And I think it’s adorable. (Mostly, except that then my clothes get all dirty and I smell like slobber). Anyway, whenever I need a self-esteem boost, or just want to smile, I know going to visit Chet won’t disappoint. As I walked up the driveway, he spotted me from the crack in the fence and started jumping and barking and getting all excited. I opened the gate and out he came, jumping and licking. My heart smiled. (I pretend he does this because he loves me SO much, not because he spends 95% of his time alone). After he calmed down a little bit, I hooked the leash on him and we headed out. I try not to cross any major streets with him, but today I had my mind made up that I wanted to go down by the river, so it was inevitable. We were coming up on this alley, when a car came out from behind the snowbank right as we were stepping out into the alley. At that moment, Chet stopped and put his entire body in front of me, blocking my path, protecting me from getting hit by a car. Sure, it was probably just a weird coincidence, but I’ll let myself think that he did it purposely.

After finishing up my walk with the pup, I was brave and went to a movie by myself. Sad, I know. It is one of the things I hate the most, and I’ve only done it three times now because it makes me feel really lonely. But, I wanted to see the movie and I guess I was feeling more courageous than normal today. It was fine, and I survived. It’s just something I don’t think I’ll ever get used to. So that’s why I’ll only do it once every three years.

I’m also currently trying to plan my upcoming vacation. I’ve been going back and forth with a few different options, and am now seriously considering heading to Spain to see Lisa. I’m scared to go that far alone, but maybe I just need to grow up. I’m trying to find dates that work with school and assignments, so we’ll see what I come up with in the next day or so. All I know is that I need a few days to relax or my head might explode. And nobody wants that. (I hope!)

Babysitting a baby Chet. Instant BFFs.
Chetty's first snowfall!
Leave a Reply

