the epic hunt

I’m a baby when I’m sick. I’ll admit it. That said, I’m still no where near as bad as any man I know. There must be some genetic code that turns men into huge wimps when they even have the slightest cold. So I’m not THAT bad, but I’ll admit I am a baby. What I hate even more than being sick is being sick and living alone. Even though no one would take care of me anyway, it’s still comforting to be sick and know someone is around if I need them. This week I got sick again. It started Monday with a sore throat. Tuesday was a worse sore throat, a headache, and the start of a runny nose. By Wednesday, I felt like I was dying. Thursday too. But, by Friday, I can breathe again!

Besides the fact that I’m always just a little bit of a baby when I get sick, I’m just over feeling like crap. The last time I got sick, in August, it lasted until December and wiped me out. So having just been better for about a month, I wasn’t ready for that again. Luckily, it seems to be passing quickly. (Now that I said it, I’ll probably go downhill again, just my luck).

Whenever I get sick I always go on this epic hunt for something to make me feel better. It seems like my old standby cold meds either aren’t available anymore, or don’t work like they used to. When I got mono earlier this fall, which then morphed into a sinus infection and just left me feeling like crap in general, someone recommended that I try Alka-Seltzer, because it always helped them. So I went on the hunt. I didn’t like the idea of drinking something, so I bought tablets. If you’ve never seen the Alka-Seltzer pills, they’re HUGE! I have a hard time swallowing big pills anyway, but I thought I’d try them if they’d help. So Tuesday night I dug out that packet and took one. Bad idea. It got stuck in my throat. After about a half hour and chugging a bunch of water it finally stopped hurting. Wednesday I stopped and got some NyQuil and DayQuil, after a suggestion from someone else. I didn’t like the idea of drinking a syrup, but I figured if I’m able to take nasty shots, I could suck it up and do medicine. Hell, the medicine probably tastes better than some shots I’ve done. (i.e. “Oatmeal Cookie”) I overestimated myself because NyQuil is so gross. After two days of it, I think I’ve discovered a good solution that makes me tolerate it, but still, yuck!

I don’t know if it’s the NyQuil/DayQuil working or just the cold running it’s course, but I am feeling better today. Which is lucky because I don’t know how many more shots of that crap I could handle. Fingers crossed this is almost the end of it though cause I don’t know how much more of it I can handle.

Leave a Reply

