30 Day Song Challenge: Day 7

30 Day Song Challenge: Day 7. A song that reminds you of a certain event.

When I started to look at the list for this thing, this one excited me. Instantly a million things popped into my head. There are so many songs that take me back and remind me of happy, sad, silly, and crazy times I had over the years. I thought I could use “Night Drive” by Jimmy Eat World, which reminds me of staying out after curfew, sitting on my gravel road after prom one year. I could use “Party in the USA” by Miley Cyrus and talk about how awesome it was to hear that at Shenans and have all the bros who think they’re hot shit singing it word for word. (HILARIOUS, by the way). Or I could go with “Fuck You” by Lily Allen, which mostly makes me think of Larryfest. BUT – I chose to go with one song that reminds me of many many good times. “Your Love is My Drug” by Ke$ha reminds me of being at Shenans with my ladies when this song came on. Screaming all the words and busting out the awesome “rap” section = awesome. It reminds me of Larryfest and my beloved Beardman from last summer, because after all, I “liked his beard.” It also reminds me of many spectacular sing-alongs after a night out, since this always makes the playlist. Whenever this song comes up on my iTunes or iPod, I can’t help but laugh to myself and soak it in. I know a lot of people probably hate this song, but to those people I just have one question: Do you wanna have a slumber party in my basement?

Leave a Reply

