the week the women went

The other day, I saw a commercial for a new show on Lifetime called “The Week the Women Went.” Basically, they go into a town, take out all the women for a week, and see what happens. In the commercial, there’s a little girl screaming, “I WANT MY MOMMY!!!” and the dad’s response is “I want your mommy too!!!” Haha. For some reason, I think this show has the potential to be hilarious. I just think of many of the men I know, and realize how lost they would be without women around, especially when it comes to taking care of kids. There are so many businesses that are “run”by women too – even if they are in lesser roles. In my experience, the secretary or receptionist is often the one who knows what’s going on in a company. 

As I’ve been thinking about this, I started to think about what would happen if it was reversed, if the men were taken out of a town. Honestly, I don’t think things would change much. Of course there would be differences, and every family is different, but overall, I think women are the ones who do most of the heavy lifting in families. I’m guessing the point of the show is to highlight changes in family life, rather than business operations, because that’s where the big differences will come in. It’s kind of a sad reality that women are the ones in charge of taking care of the house and kids, to the point that many men are lost when left alone. 

I’m not saying that I don’t think men are important, because they are, but I just think it would be a fun little experiment to not have women around for awhile and see what happens. Apparently Lifetime had the same thoughts. I’m not a big fan of reality TV, but I think I’ll give this one a shot when it airs. 

Leave a Reply

