24/30 – Family Dynamic: Past & Present

Question 24: Describe your family dynamic of your childhood vs. your family dynamic now. 

My family dynamic is pretty similar now to what it was when I was younger, except that I think we all get along better now that we’re older. Growing up, I think we all had attitude. My siblings and I got along for the most part, but there were definitely times when we didn’t. When my siblings and I were younger, my family did a lot more stuff together. Even though my parents were divorced, we still took trips together and spend holidays with everyone together. Once we were out of school, there was less of a need for big family activities. Now, we’re starting to do holidays together again, because it just turned into a big hassle to do Christmas in three different places.

For me specifically, I think I have a better relationship with my family than I did when I was younger. I was a snotty teenager and couldn’t wait to get out of the house and on my own. Doing that really seemed to make a difference. If someone would have told me six years ago I’d be back living at home, I would have thought there was no way that would happen. It’s still rough sometimes, but definitely not as bad as it would have been if I came home shortly after going to college.

Leave a Reply

