28/30 – love language

Question 28: What is your love language?

Luckily Marisa did this one before I got to it, because I had no clue what this was even talking about. I found out the love languages are from a book, and there are five possibilities. The five love languages are: words of affirmation, quality time, receiving gifts, acts of service, and physical touch. I could have guessed what mine would be, but I took the quiz anyway. If you’re interested in finding out your own love language, you can find that here.

My top two results were pretty close, and I think they were pretty accurate.  My top two were acts of service and quality time. Here are the descriptions from the website:

Acts of Service: Can helping with homework really be an expression of love? Absolutely! Anything you do to ease the burden of responsibilities weighing on an “Acts of Service” person will speak volumes. The words he or she most wants to hear: “Let me do that for you.” Laziness, broken commitments, and making more work for them tell speakers of this language their feelings don’t matter.

Quality Time: In the vernacular of Quality Time, nothing says, “I love you,” like full, undivided attention. Being there for this type of person is critical, but really being there—with the TV off, fork and knife down, and all chores and tasks on standby—makes your significant other feel truly special and loved. Distractions, postponed dates, or the failure to listen can be especially hurtful.

I can definitely agree with these. I really don’t care about receiving tangible gifts from others, and I’m usually not a huge touchy feely person, so I didn’t expect those to show high results for me. I can definitely see that acts of service would be my #1, because I appreciate when someone helps me, or wants to help me. I’ve been in situations where I’m doing everything, whether that is in a relationship, in a home, work, school, basically anything, and it’s difficult. Even something as simple as doing the dishes, or offering to help with whatever I’m doing goes a long way for me.

I also wasn’t surprised that quality time was my second highest love language. I don’t necessarily think it needs to be 100% focused attention with no tv, no eating, no distractions, cause I think that would make me uncomfortable to have that much undivided attention. But I do think it’s important for me to spend time with the people I love and care about.

Leave a Reply

