30/30 – Remember Me

Question 30: List 10 things you hope to be remembered for.

Last one – woohoo! Taking on these thirty questions has been eye-opening, challenging, annoying, and fun, for the most part. There were a few questions I wanted to skip, but I’m glad I forced myself to answer them. I think I learned a lot about myself through these past 30 posts. I am very happy to be done though.

So, here’s what I hope to be remembered for:

  • My sense of humor – I think I’m funny sometimes, and maybe other people do too? My life has been so ridiculous and out of control at times, that there was nothing to do but laugh. Thankfully I was able to do that instead of just becoming an anxiety ridden wreck.
  • Being a good friend – I hope there is at least one person out there who thinks I’ve been a good friend to them.
  • My brain – I hope to be remembered for my contribution to the academic world, and for my overall ability not to be a dumbass most of the time.
  • What I’ve done right, not my mistakes – I’ve made a lot of mistakes, done stupid things, made the wrong choice, but I’ve also done a lot right. I hope that after I’m gone people will only remember about the good things. Or if people do remember my mistakes, I hope they can at least get a good laugh out of them.
  • The difference I made – I can’t say that I’ve made a difference in anything yet, but I hope to lend my time and talents to make a difference to a cause, or to a person’s life….whatever that may be is yet to be determined.
  • The people I’ve helped through my professional life – Being in the field I’m in, and will continue to be in for the rest of my life, I have the potential to make a huge difference in the lives of those I work with. I hope that after I’m gone people will remember how I was able to help them when they needed it.
  • The book I write someday – This is maybe a silly goal, that most people don’t know about, but I want to write a book someday. I could never write fiction because I have no imagination, but I’d like to write something. Hopefully it will be good enough for people to remember me for it (in a good way).
  • My generosity – I like to give of myself to others, whether that is time, or my possessions.
  • My love of learning – Sometimes I feel like I’m never going to be done with school, because there are a million things I want to learn and do with my life. I hope that my persistence and constant pursuit of education is an example to the younger people in my life.
  • Being a good mom (or aunt, if I never have kids) – If I have kids, I want to be a good mom. I suppose everybody wants that when they have kids. If I never do, I want to be remembered as the “cool aunt” who my niece/nephews friends are jealous of. I’ll be the aunt who the kids do all the fun stuff with, the one with silly stories, and the one the kids actually want to spend time with.

 

Leave a Reply

