random acts of kindness

Today my faith in humanity was restored a little bit. I’ve been struggling with trying to understand what is going on in the world since the shooting in CT. It’s hard to fathom what would make someone do that to little kids, and for probably obvious reasons, I’m having more difficulty than usual brushing it off. In any case, today at work I got a call from a woman who says her family always “adopts” another family for Christmas, and she was wondering if we had anyone in need. Her son is 38 and has some developmental disabilities, and this Christmas project is something he always looks forward to. In fact, she admitted she had been too busy to plan anything yet this year and her son actually eagerly reminded her of it last night, so she started making some calls. They don’t have to do it, but they do it every year because they know there are many people out there who wouldn’t have a Christmas otherwise. I did have a family in mind, and when I called the mother to tell her about it, and to ask what the children might need, she was overjoyed because otherwise she would not have been able to get her kids anything. Even though the families will never meet, the ones donating presents will be able to feel joy knowing that they were able to make someone’s holiday better, and the family receiving the gifts will have their faith in humanity restored a little bit too.

With everything bad that has been going on lately, it was nice to get a little pick me up today as a reminder that there are decent people out there willing to help out a stranger.

This woman, and her son, along with a few other things I’ve been reading lately have inspired me to start doing some random acts of kindness. I’ve seen several lists out there, so I plan on stealing some ideas from those, as well as maybe coming up with a few of my own. I just feel like I have a very privileged life, and I’ve worked hard to get to the point I’m at – and I’m reminded every day that others are struggling, so I feel it’s my duty as a fellow human being to help out when I can. We’ll see how it goes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

