End of Year Survey 2012

I had some time to kill today and figured I would do one of these silly surveys…since either the world will end today or we’ll be starting 2013 soon! This is the same one I did at the end of 2010, so it will be funny to look back and see what’s stayed the same, and what’s changed.

Year-End Survey 2012

Did you keep your new years’ resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
 In the past, I haven’t really made any resolutions, but I think I will this year.

Did anyone close to you give birth?  Not this year, but in a few more months there will be babies galore!

Did anyone close to you die? No, thankfully.

What countries did you visit?
 None in 2012.

What would you like to have in 2013 that you lacked in 2012?
 A house. But that probably won’t happen.

What date from 2012 will remain etched upon your memory, and why? May 4 – because that’s when I graduated with my Master’s Degree…and Jan 1.

What was your biggest achievement of the year? Finishing my Master’s!

What was your biggest failure?
 Luckily I don’t think I had any major “big fails” in 2012.

Did you suffer illness or injury? Haha…of course. I developed this weird stomach thing. And my body is always dying since I’ve been running again.

What was the best thing you bought?
 I’ve bought lots of little things over the year, new things for my apartment (when I have one again) – and I recently bought an iPad. That was probably the biggest purchase.

Where did most of your money go?
 Rent for the first part of the year, now student loans. 😦

What did you get really, really, really excited about? Finishing school, graduation, visiting friends/family.

What song(s) will always remind you of 2012? “Give Me Everything” by Pitbull.

Compared to this time last year, are you:
i. happier or sadder? — happier! 
ii. richer or poorer? — about the same. I make way less money, but I have fewer bills, so it evens out.

What do you wish you’d done more?
 Visit friends. Travel.

What do you wish you’d done less of? Homework. Worry.

What was your favorite TV program? How I Met Your Mother. Dexter.

Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
 Nope.

What was the best book you read?
 The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo series. I couldn’t put them down.

What was your greatest musical discovery?
 I don’t really think I discovered any new bands in the past year. There are some new songs I really like, but the band itself isn’t that great.

What did you want and get?
 I wanted a job related to what I went to school for, and I suppose I got that. I always wanted a dog, and I got that too.

What was your favorite film of this year? Rock of Ages. This is the only one that comes to mind since I just watched part of it last night. I love all the music.

What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
 I turned 24 this year, and I went out with some friends in Winona. The bar crawl was much smaller than some we’ve done, but that just reflects my age. Haha. And I think my birthday was on a Monday? In any case, it was a good time.

How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2012?
 Hmm…pretty classic and comfortable.

What kept you sane?
 My amazing friends. Being able to spend time by myself. Exercising.

Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most? Ryan Gosling. Haha.

What political issue stirred you the most?
 The battle over the right for gays to marry. <— Still from 2010.

Who did you miss? I miss my friends and family that I don’t get to see very often.

Who was the best new person you met?
 I don’t know that I’ve met any new people that stuck around.

What was the nicest thing someone told you about yourself. That I make them happy.

The most touching experience you’ve had this year?
 Being able to become friends with and get to know some of our clients over the past few months.

What did you like most about yourself this year? That I’ve started a routine to get back in shape. So far, so good.

What did you hate most about yourself this year? That I always seem to change my mind after I’ve made a decision.

Was 2012 a good year for you? Yes.

What was your favorite moment of the year? Hearing that there are more babies on the way, little moments with loved ones, and celebrating my graduation.

What was your least favorite moment of the year? Moving away from Winona and having to say goodbye to everyone.

Where were you when 2012 began? At the VFW in Winona.

Who were you with?
 Mitch, Kristina, Shannon, Dustin — I think that’s it? I was drunk probably.

Where will you be when 2012 ends?
 Probably sleeping since I have to work at 7am on New Year’s Day.

Who will you be with when 2012 ends?
 Just me.

Do you have a new years resolution for 2013?
 Not yet, but I think I’ll probably come up with some.

What was your favorite month of 2012? May.

Did you miss anybody in the past year?
 At any given point, I’ve missed a lot of people this year.

What was your favorite record from 2012?
 ???

How many concerts did you see in 2012? No big ones – just bands at bars.

Did you drink a lot of alcohol in 2012?
 Not really. Most of the drinking was concentrated during the first half of the year.

How much money did you spend in 2012?
 I don’t even want to think about it.

What was your proudest moment of 2012?
 Graduation day.

What was your most embarrassing moment of 2012?
 I can’t say that I did anything embarrassing this year.

If you could go back in time to any moment of 2012 and change something, what would it be? Everything happens for a reason, so I wouldn’t change a thing that’s happened in the past year.

What are your plans for 2013?
  I will likely either be changing jobs or heading back to school, continuing to work on getting fit, becoming and aunt again, worrying less, and just seeing what happens.

How are you different now that the year has ended? I’m much more of an old lady. Not being able to drink without getting sick + getting up every day at 5:30 makes me tired and boring.

Leave a Reply

