Daily Prompt: Nightmares

Daily Prompt: Describe the last nightmare you remember having. What do you think it meant?

I don’t know that I would necessarily qualify last night’s dreams as nightmares, but they are definitely something I would not like to happen in real life, so I think they can count. I’ve had some pretty intense nightmares lately, but I can’t remember them, and for some reason last night’s dreams are sticking with me, so they will have to do.

Early in the night, I was dreaming that I was in some version of the “Hunger Games.” I was being hunted and kept getting stabbed for some reason. I remember knowing the people who were hunting me, although now I can remember who exactly they were. I just kept running and running, and eventually people would find me and stab me, and then I would start running again. At about 1am I woke up and decided to get up to try to shake the dream. Even as I laid back down, I still had the feelings of being scared and hurt.

I eventually fell back asleep and left that dream for another one. In this one, we were all about to die. Everyone in the U.S., at least. There was a giant flood that was wiping out cities. I was with my boyfriends parents, waiting for him to get back from somewhere. There wasn’t any water where we were, but the giant tidal wave had already taken out the state of Florida. We had the news on and could see that the entire state was covered in water, and it was making its way toward Wisconsin. When my boyfriend got back, he had some print out with him. I looked at that, and could tell that he had just slept with one of my co-workers. Upon further investigation, it was two of my coworkers! And some guy, who I can’t remember. I got mad, and was all, “How could you do that – with her?! Both of them?!” (I apparently was less upset about the guy – although my boyfriend would not sleep with any of those people in real life). He didn’t seem to offer much of an explanation, other than that we were all going to die soon anyway. Just then, on the news, it appeared that our city, along with one in Oklahoma (nowhere near WI) might potentially be safe from the flood. I’m not how those two areas were connected, and if there ever was a big flood or disaster, my town would certainly not be on the “please spare” list. Anyway, we could potentially be safe, but all the water was still coming, and I was mad, so all I wanted to do was leave, but I couldn’t, because everyone was barricaded in their homes. And then I woke up again.

I don’t know what ended up happening, but I’m guessing we all would have died. This giant flood probably wasn’t going to save anyone.

I have no idea what these dreams might mean, but I am open to suggestions. They seem to have elements from several movies I have watched recently, so maybe that’s the only explanation. My dreams are generally really weird, so I’ve given up trying to make sense of them.

Leave a Reply

