Daily Prompt: Prized Possession

Describe an item you were incredibly attached to as a child. What became of it?

One item from my childhood that I can remember being incredibly attached to was my baby blanket. I slept with that thing for a very long time, and eventually ended up just using it as a pillow. I didn’t have a creepy-overly-attached attachment to this blanket, it was possible for me to leave the house without it, and I did, of course, go to college without it. But for all the years growing up here, most nights I slept with that blanket. Sometime when I was in high school or college, my mom had to put a new backing on it because it was so ripped apart. Since then, it wasn’t the same. It felt too new, and became more formed than the blanket I was used to. I think it’s still in my closet upstairs. I’m sure if I have a daughter, she will get it someday. 

Another similar item I was attached to is a blanket that my grandma made for me. I don’t particularly like the design on it, but it is soooooo comfortable. I’ve tried switching to a new blanket for my bed several times and I just keep going back. I don’t like to sleep with a top sheet, cause I feel suffocated (haha), so this blanket provides the perfect texture and coolness for sleeping. It made the move with me to college, from apartment to apartment, and is currently on my bed right now. 

Long story short, I like blankets apparently. 

Leave a Reply

