Daily Prompt: There’s No Place Like Home

If you had the opportunity to live a nomadic life, traveling from place to place, would you do it? Do you need a home base? What makes a place “home” to you?

As much as I would love exploring new places, meeting new people, and experiencing new things, I need a home base. If I’m even away from my place for a few days or a week it starts to drive me crazy. Sometimes I just get to the point where I need to be in my own space, with my own stuff.

I’ve moved several times, so my “home” base is constantly changing. It’s been awhile since I’ve actually felt like home in a certain place – I think that “home” for me always used to be where I went to college. That town was full of my favorite people and places, and even after I moved, when I would go to visit, my heart just felt happy as I started to get close to town. Those feelings in that city are gone, even though I still want to live around that area as soon as my life is figured out.

Once I moved for grad school, my mom’s house didn’t really feel like “home” to me anymore, probably because it was so far away and I wasn’t able to get there very often. That’s changed a little bit, since now I visit more often, and recently lived there for a year. I always enjoy escaping up there to the middle of nowhere, where my cell phone rarely works and it’s so quiet.

Home to me has always revolved around who is there. It’s not a house or belongings, but it’s the memories and the company.

Image

Leave a Reply

