Living vs. Existing

What is the difference between living and existing? 

Since I saw this question a few weeks ago I’ve been thinking about it a lot. Do I believe there is a difference? Yes. Which am I doing – living or just merely existing? 

This is how I distinguish the two: 

Living: Taking chances, making mistakes, staying up too late, laughing at silly things, spending time with the people you love, doing stupid things once and awhile, not being afraid, chasing your dreams, having dreams, standing in a rain storm cause you don’t want the night to end, dancing (even if you’re not good at it), making changes if necessary, striving for more, being open to failure and learning from it….and so much more.

Existing: Going through the motions, doing the minimum, getting by, feeling stuck with how things are and not feeling like you can change them, living day by day without looking forward.

Which way do I think I’m living my life? I like to think I’m living…although I know there are days when I am just existing. Doing the minimum I can to get through the day. Usually that only happens when I’m really worn out. I’m trying to make more of an effort to get out and live life, rather than just be a hermit in my house, even though sometimes that’s all I want. A lot of the time I think I act like a stuffy old lady who is immune to fun, but I’m trying not to be that way. I’m trying not to be wild and ridiculous like I used to be, but I think I can find a balance somewhere. 

Leave a Reply

