Daily Prompt: Express Yourself

Tell us about a time you couldn’t quite get your words or images to express what you wanted to express. What do you think the barrier was? For bonus points, try again.

I think the shorter answer to this question would be to tell you about a time when I was able to accurately express what I wanted to with my words. Ugh. I’m horrible with words. I guess I should rephrase that: I’m horrible at talking about my feelings. I can talk for days about logic, facts, school, boring life junk, but when it comes to discussing how I’m actually feeling, I freeze up. Worse than that, I can’t seem to discuss my feelings with crying, even if it’s something that doesn’t warrant tears. I have no idea why this happens, but it’s been that way for as long as I can remember. I can write and write about what I’m feeling and have no problems expressing myself, but if I’m face to face with a person, or even talking on the phone, I start to choke up and can’t manage to get anything out. It’s a major problem. Not to mention annoying and embarrassing. 

I’ve grown some balls lately, so this has gotten better over the past few months, luckily. 

 

Leave a comment