the gross girl at the gym

I hate working out in front of other people.

Hate it.

I try to avoid it at all costs. But, yesterday, I went to the gym on campus. I wasn’t able to go home after work and needed to quit being so lazy and get back into my 5 or 6 day per week workout routine. So I sucked it up and just went. Of course, the only open treadmills were in the front row of the cardio equipment, so some lucky people behind me got to stare at my ass the entire time. Sorry ’bout it. When I got there, a girl was on the machine next to me. After a little bit she finished up and left. While I was there, only doing a 40 minute workout mind you, two girls came, worked out, and left. What?! I’m not sure what the point of using a treadmill is if you’re only on it for 10 minutes. But maybe that’s just me.

I also have prime view of everyone who was finished working out. A lot of people had their stuff right in front of me so they came down to grab it and head out. I was amazed at how many girls were leaving and didn’t even look like they had done anything. Hair was still perfect, make-up intact, and not a drop of sweat to be seen. Meanwhile, I look like a wet dog because I’m sweating so much. There was a girl a few machines down from me that was about the same. I probably saw 20-30 girls leave who looked like they just came to the gym, had a chat, and left. When I kept seeing people like that, it was almost embarrassing how disgusting I looked. But, I just needed to remind myself that at least when I got done, I felt like I accomplished something.

I much prefer working out in the privacy of my home where I can be as sweaty and gross as I want without everyone around reminding me how sweaty and gross I am.

3 thoughts on “the gross girl at the gym

  1. Haha, this post made me laugh because when I train.. I also look like a sweaty dog! You know what, I take pride in that though because I worked out harder than the curly hair, make-up faced girl next to me. In the end, YOUR body will be proud of you! In the end, that other girl will be looking at YOU and wondering how you did it. Embrace that sweat. 🙂

    • At least I’m not alone in this. 🙂 I don’t mind being the gross one, because at least I know I’m working. It’s just funny when pretty much everyone else at the gym looks flawless and like they just stepped out of a salon after getting their hair/makeup done.

      • No, you are definitely not alone in this sweaty race! I agree though, it is pretty funny to see other women walk out looking like they’re headed off to a date, and I’m over here like…. ‘I reeeeeally hope the guy next to me can’t smell my sweat!’. haha!

Leave a Reply

