Daily Prompt: Tattoo….You?

Do you have a tattoo? If so, what’s the story behind your ink? If you don’t have a tattoo, what might you consider getting emblazoned on you skin?

I have six tattoos…it seems I’ve gotten about one every year since I was 19. All my tattoos hold special meaning to me, or I wouldn’t have gotten them in the first place.

My first tattoo was the outline of an elephant holding some flowers, and it’s on my left shoulder. This was sort of a spur of the moment decision, as a friend and I just went in to ask questions and they ended up doing it right then. It comes from a picture I have of two elephants with the flowers in between them that says, “Happiness is meant to be shared.” I’ve loved elephants for my entire life, so it seemed fitting that an elephant would be my first tattoo.

My second tattoo is on my wrist and says “no regrets.” It’s just the way I hope to live my life, believing that everything happens for reason and that everything will be alright.

My third tattoo is on my foot – it’s a peace sign with wings. This one is basically cause I believe in some hippie ideals. 

My fourth tattoo is on back and is one of my favorite Carl Jung quotes – “I am not what happened to me, I am what I choose to become.” It is referencing something very specific in my life, but it also fits on a broad level. I am not the victim of my circumstances, I can make choices and changes to live the life I want.

My fifth tattoo is lyrics from one of my favorite songs, and is on my ribs. It says, “Where you invest your love, you invest your life.” 

My sixth tattoo is right under the Mumford and Sons lyrics and is just a simple arrow. 

I might be done with tattoos for awhile, but I’ve thought that before. The only thing I still want to get is a cherry tree, either on my back or on my thigh. 

One thought on “Daily Prompt: Tattoo….You?

Leave a Reply

