30 Day Challenge – Day 19: Someone I Care About

Day 19 – Write about something or someone that you really care about.

There were many different places I considered going with this post – there are so many people and things I care about. My first thought was to pick a thing, an idea, or a cause that I really care about, so I could avoid being too overly personal. Or I thought about choosing a close friend, family member, or my niece or nephew because they’ve all taught me so much. But, I’ve decided to just say screw it and be personal and mushy and all of that and write about my man. 

When we first met, I had no idea it would turn into any of this. Whenever I’d see him out, it made me happy that I was able to make him smile by throwing some T-Swift on the jukebox before we’d even acknowledged the other was there. When we started hanging out more, it sort of freaked me out because it was like we were the same person. We had so many similar interests and ended up dressing basically the exact same way more than was normal. It was more than that though, I just felt good being around him. I really liked that he challenged me and wasn’t afraid to disagree with me. I’d had so many other relationships where it was like someone just agreed with whatever and was scared to say something that hurt my feelings. Of course I don’t like getting my feelings hurt, and there are times when it’s nice to just hear, “oh thank you, this is great” rather than the opposite, but it is nice to feel challenged after not having that basically ever. For the first time, probably ever, I felt like someone was pushing and helping me become better. 

He was the first person I ever allowed myself to spend that much time with. Normally if I’d see someone one day, I would get super annoyed when they wanted to hang out again 3 days later. But with him, I liked seeing each other every day or almost every day. It felt good to be together but I never felt like I needed to keep him entertained. It was easy. I like that we can be together now and be in the same room but each doing our own things sometimes. 

I liked that everything felt so equal for once. Like we were at equivalent points in our lives.

I like that I can wear sweatpants basically all the time and not feel like a slob, cause he’s wearing sweats too. I like that we can joke with each other. I like that we both like hawaiian pizza. I like that I can trust him to drive my car. I like that we have similar tastes in music. I like listening to him sing. I like making him cookies and how he can’t eat cookies without milk. And so many other things. 

He gives me so many things I’ve never felt before, and for that I am incredibly grateful. Of course it’s not always rainbows and butterflies, but that’s ok. I’ve never been happier than I am at this point in my life, and I know he has a lot to do with it. 

Leave a Reply

