religious or spiritual

3. Are you religious or spiritual?

I used to think about this a lot when I wasn’t really going to church at all. I don’t believe people need to go to church to have a relationship with God — a person can be spiritual without being religious. In that sense there were several years when I considered myself to be more spiritual. I still felt like God has a presence in my life, I prayed, and I always believed that God had a purpose for me. But the last few years I’ve started to see myself as more of a religious person. Going to church and meeting with other people who share the same views has been much more beneficial than trying to go it on my own. I struggled with finding a church home that would accept my liberal views, and that is important to me. Despite that, I still feel that my beliefs are important and valid and accepted in the ways it really matters.

3 thoughts on “religious or spiritual

  1. I really relate to what you’re saying although I’m probably more spiritual than religious; however, I do feel that pull to be part of a church community and feel very drawn to Christian symbolism, albeit my beliefs are far more liberal than what is traditionally taught. Thanks for sharing, it’s nice to know someone out there feels similarly to me.

    • Sometimes I feel like it’s hard to have liberal beliefs and be Christian at the same time. It’s in that way that I feel like the connection to God is more powerful/important than the actual church building I’m in.

      • Yes I agree on both counts – i think it is hard especially as society is quite divided and it’s sort of expected that you identify with one belief system or other, even if that’s a spiritual rather than religious belief system. I don’t know many people who are liberal across the board and it can be a lonely place. I also agree that it’s the connection that matters and this is what I’m trying to keep in mind and heart as I follow my path.

Leave a Reply

